Monday, February 26, 2024
- Advertisment -
HomeTechnology & GadgetsCertifications to Become an IT Security Architect

Certifications to Become an IT Security Architect

The work of an IT security architect is to protect a company’s data, sensitive information and networks from cybercriminals. According to BLS, there would be a 12% growth in IT and computer occupations from the year 2018-2028. In the upcoming years, there would be approximately 8400 new positions for IT security architects.

The IT security architect has to gain a thorough knowledge of computer systems and networks along with the mastery of VPNs and clouds. The professional needs to be aware of the latest security tools for vulnerability scanning as well as intrusion prevention systems. The cybersecurity expert has to understand the company's network and recommend all the necessary changes that can protect the company's information from a data breach. 

For getting an ample amount of knowledge of the cybersecurity domain, one needs to opt for the necessary certifications that can help them in becoming an IT security architect. 

Let us have a look at some key certifications that can help a candidate to become an IT security architect

Top 5 Certifications for becoming an IT Security Architect

  1. Certified Ethical Hacker

Among all the options for IT security architect certifications, the most important one is the Certified Ethical Hacker certification. The CEH certification has been designed for testing the knowledge related to security threats, countermeasures, and risks of the computer networks. If a professional has at least two years of experience in the cybersecurity domain, then he/she can appear for the CEH examination without any training. 

The CEH training is pretty much flexible in nature and that counts as the most significant benefit for the professionals. The Certified Ethical Hacker training could be gained through the online mode via hands-on labs and lectures or even the offline mode via on-site training by the professionals in that particular subject. 

If you are thinking about becoming a certified ethical hacker, then the best option for you is to start with this certification. It will introduce you with the fundamental concepts of the cybersecurity domain.

2.            CompTIA A Security+

CompTIA A Security+ is another starting level certification that does the job of getting you in the cybersecurity domain. This certification covers both theoretical and practical applications in various security topics like compliance, operational security, application security, risk management, and countermeasures. 

This is considered to be an entry-level certification if you are thinking about pursuing a career in the cybersecurity domain. Some leading certification bodies like IBM and EC Council make use of the CompTIA A Security+ certification as a prerequisite for employing new candidates in their company. 

3.            CISSP

The Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) is an expert-level certification that is possessed by professionals who have in-depth knowledge of the real world tactics being used in the cybersecurity domains. They have complete knowledge of various concepts like regulatory compliance, operations security, software development security, policy recreation, business continuity, network security, and risk management.

The prerequisite for this examination is to possess 5+ years of experience in two or more of the 8 CISSP security domains. After the completion of the CISSP certification, it validates your skills of designing, implementing, and managing a perfect cybersecurity program. 

4.            Offensive Security Certified Professional (OSCP)

This one is the most technical certification of all and also the least known among all the other ones. It is a completely hands-on certification program that focuses on the candidate’s practical skills. The candidates are imparted with in-depth knowledge of the penetration process and lifecycle. 

Before you opt for this certification program, you must be clear that it requires enhanced technical understanding of various concepts like systems internals, software development, networking protocols, and complete knowledge of the Kali Linux system. The classroom training is only available in Las Vegas, so most of the candidates would be taking online training for this certification. 

5.            Global Information Assurance Certification Penetration Tester

SANS Institute is one of the oldest organizations that offer cybersecurity education and the Global Information Assurance Certification (GIAC) program is run by them. The certification courses offered by the GIAC program are completely based on hands-on training. 

There are plenty of options to attain the GIAC Penetration Tester (GPEN) certification, but the most recommended way is to take up the SEC560 course that is based on Network Penetration Testing and Ethical Hacking. This is a pretty elaborative course that validates the theoretical as well as practical skills of a professional.

There is a huge scope and demand in the market if you are thinking about taking up the IT security architect job in any company. Along with your skills, these certifications would augment your credentials and give you an edge as compared to other applicants.

Hi I'm a professional blogger having experience in Digital Marketing And Blogging. My basic research on Finance, tech, health, entertainment, Digital Marketing, and home improvement. I'd like to share my experience with all of you be to connect to explore the knowledge.
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

- Advertisement -

All Categories

- Advertisment -