Enhance your Cyber Resilience with Cyber Security Standards

Source : - Freepik

When finding the most applicable best-practice standards and guidance for implementing effective cyber security, it is essential to establish the role that each fulfills its extent and the way it interacts with other standards and guidance.

Cyber security standards are usually applicable to all organizations irrespective of their size or the industry and sector in which they well-operate. But what is Cyber Security Standards?

In order to make cyber security measures clear, written norms are required. These written norms are called cyber security standards. The standards may involve guidelines, methods, reference framework, etc. And it helps ensure security, enables integration and interoperability, minimizes complexity, and provides the structure for new developments.

Security standards are generally laid for all organizations irrespective of their size or the industry and sector in which they function. And this webcast covers some of the most popular cyber security standards, certificates and regulations. They are actually considered the building blocks to enhance your cyber resilience and compliance. So here are the most popular cyber security standards-

Cyber Essentials Scheme

It is backed by HM Government and sets out an organizational security standard that if applied successfully, it will help protect businesses from majority of low level basic cyber threats. A start point in cyber security, there are several ways to certification and it’s majorly questionnaire based.


Don’t form an opinion that only big organizations are targeted by the cyber criminals. So, if you are a business and that too online, you are a target too. If you are a supplier to government, it becomes mandatory in most of cases. Obtaining Cyber Essentials will encourage your customers that you consider cyber security seriously and you will get a certification too.

The IASME Governance Standard

IASME refers to Information Assurance for Small and Medium Enterprises Governance Standard was developed for small businesses and goes a step further than the Cyber Essentials Scheme.

IASME enables you to adapt a more rigorous approach towards cyber security, something that might help you to participate in a government supply chain. Smaller companies are more prone to cyber threat so having IASME might make you stand out from your competition.

ISO 27001

ISO 27001 is an information risk management standard designed to provide counsel in the selection of adequate and symmetrical controls to protect information. Moreover, it also sets out the objectives of information security management and defines the information security policies, processes and standards to be adopted by a business.

Apart from providing businesses with an apt level of information security protection, ISO 27001 certification provides third parties and customers with confidence that the information they share with you will be protected and hence, it is also an internationally recognized standard.

Cloud Controls Matrix(CCM)

It is designed for cloud vendors; the CCM comes with a control framework to provide businesses a detailed insight of cloud-related security concepts. The control framework covers three areas- cloud architecture, governing in the cloud and operating in the cloud. It’s in sync with other industry related security standards including ISO 27001.

Identifying he risks lying in the organization is a good basis to choose the cyber security standards most suitable to your needs and requirements. Make use of well-established cyber risk management principles guided by widely accepted best practice. Cyber security standards play a key role in enhancing cyber security by protecting the internet, its communications and the businesses that depend on it.  A variety in the protective methods utilized by countries or organizations can make it hard to assess the risk systematically and to make sure that the security is consistent and adequate.