Comparing policies is much more exhausting than just comparing price tags. You are required to look at the coverage offered, customer satisfaction ratings, and compare deductibles when deciding which company will provide you the best protection as a Virginia driver.
In this webcast, you will come across everything you need to compare and choose the best car insurance policy, as well as everything you need to know about legally driving in the Commonwealth. Here, we will make you aware about the laws of Virginia and requirements, factors that will impact your premium costs, and even the companies that hold the best reputation in the entire state.
How to Choose the Best Car Insurance in Virginia?
When shopping around for car insurance policies in Virginia, you literally have endless options. Of course, it is important to remember that your pricing will differ greatly on the basis of individual factors, like exact location, the vehicle you drive and coverage you select, and even your personal driving record.
Virginia Auto Insurance Requirements
Virginia law requires that all drivers have a way to pay for injuries or any property damage resulting due to a car accident. And you can achieve this by-
- Purchasing a car insurance
- Paying Virginia’s Department of Motor Vehicles to drive uninsured
What are the Car Insurance Requirements?
If you are looking to purchase the best car insurance in Virginia to meet your financial responsibility, you must buy Virginia liability car insurance to help cover the costs of injuries and property damage to others you caused in a car accident. The following minimums apply to your liability coverage:
- $25,000 for injuries per person per accident
- $50,000 for total injuries per accident
- $20,000 for property damage per accident
Moreover, you are also required to have uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage to help pay for your injuries or property damage caused post an accident caused by either:
- An uninsured driver
- A driver who does not have enough insurance coverage to pay for injuries or property damage
If you purchase auto insurance to meet you financial responsibility requirements, you might also want to consider buying an additional coverage.
When shopping for and comparing different car insurance quotes, ask about the following types of optional coverage:
- Collision- To pay for damages to your car post a traffic accident
- Comprehensive- Cover non-accident related accidents, like vandalism
- Medical Expenses- This will help in paying your medical bills post your accident.
If you are found to be driving without insurance and you have not paid the uninsured driver fee, you might face suspension of the following documents:
- Driver’s License
- Vehicle Registration
- License Plates
And in case, you want to get it reinstated again, you must:
- Pay a fine of $500.
- File and maintain a proof of insurance certification for 3 years.
- Pay a driver’s license reinstatement fee which ranges from $45 to $120.
Majority of Virginia auto insurance companies offer discount such as:
- Good driver discount
- Good student discount
- Anti0theft discount
- Safety features like airbags discount
- Multi-car discount
- Homeowners discount
Discounts are an amazing way to get affordable car insurance rates. Combine your discounts with a driving record that reflects safe and violation-free driving, and you are well on your way to reasonable car insurance rates.